The St. Charles County Highway Department maintains and improves existing public county roads, as well as constructs new roads, provides snow removal and oversight of the public right-of-way.

The department is comprised of approximately 115 employees in both the field and office and is comprised of laborers, equipment operators, technicians and engineers. Watch the video below to learn more about the department and its responsibilities.

County Street / Road
County roads are any public road that is located outside the jurisdiction of the various cities in the county and that are not part of the state system. The state highway system includes any numbered (I-70, Route 94, etc.) or lettered route (Highway K, Highway DD, etc.).

Streets within cities are typically maintained by the city, with the exception of the smaller municipalities such as Cottleville, Weldon Spring, St. Paul, etc., who contract with the county to have their streets maintained by the County Highway Department. Cities that do their own maintenance are:
  • Augusta
  • Lake Saint Louis
  • O'Fallon
  • St. Charles
  • St. Peters
  • Weldon Spring Heights
  • Wentzville
For information on future projects on county roads, contact the Highway Department Office by calling 636-949-7305.

State Maintained Highways
Most roads with a letter or a number are state maintained highways. The state is also responsible for the traffic signals along these highways and overpasses. You may contact them at 314-275-1500 or 888-ASK-MODOT.

Municipality Maintained Roads
It is the responsibility of the St. Charles County municipalities to maintain the roads within their jurisdiction. View the current municipality boundary map (PDF).

Municipality Contact Information