Police Department

“The police are the public and the public are the police; the police being only members of the public who are paid to give full time attention to duties which are incumbent on every citizen in the interests of community welfare and existence.”
                -Sir Robert Peel

St. Charles County Police Department serves approximately 373,000 residents in St. Charles County. St. Charles County is the third most populated county in Missouri and the department has an area of responsibility consisting of 587 square miles, with 800 miles of public roads. 
Our mission for every member of this department is to consistently perform their duties, and to find ways to affirmatively promote, preserve and deliver a feeling of security, safety and quality service to members of our community.

One of the Largest Agencies
Your Police Department is one of the largest in the State of Missouri and the largest law enforcement agency in St. Charles County. We are comprised of 130 commissioned law enforcement professionals and 57 civilian personnel with duties ranging from traffic enforcement to neighborhood directed patrols to piloting our Metro Air Support helicopters.

We are directly responsible for the safety and security of residents residing in the unincorporated areas of the county and also provide specialized and supplemental services to municipal police departments on request.

The Police Department provides contract patrols to the cities of Augusta, Weldon Springs Heights, St. Paul, Flint Hill, Portage De Sioux, and West Alton. Additionally, we are responsible for providing full time law enforcement patrol services to the municipalities of Dardenne Prairie and Weldon Spring.

Throughout the Police Department we work to provide professional and responsive law enforcement services to St. Charles County. Please contact us at anytime.


Chief David Todd