St. Charles County was established in 1812, and it is the third most populated county in Missouri with an area of responsibility consisting of 587 square miles, with 800 miles of public roads.

The Sheriff's Department serves approximately 368,666 residents in St. Charles County, with approximately 111,243 residing in the unincorporated areas and 257,423 residing in county municipalities.
Our mission for every member of this department is to consistently perform their duties, and to find ways to affirmatively promote, and deliver a feeling of security, safety and quality service to members of our community.

Largest Agency
Your Sheriff's Department is the largest in the State of Missouri and the largest law enforcement agency in St. Charles County. We are comprised of 155 commissioned law enforcement professionals and 71 civilian personnel with duties ranging from serving civil process, traffic enforcement, neighborhood directed patrols to piloting our Metro Air Support helicopters.

We are directly responsible for the safety and security of residents residing in the unincorporated areas of the county and also provide specialized and supplemental services to municipal police departments on request.

The Sheriff's Department provides contract patrols to the cities of Augusta, Weldon Springs Heights, St. Paul, Flint Hill, Portage De Sioux, and West Alton. Additionally, we are responsible for providing full time law enforcement patrol services to the municipalities of Dardenne Prairie and Weldon Spring.

Throughout the Sheriff's Department we work to provide professional and responsive law enforcement services to St. Charles County. Please contact us at anytime.


Sheriff Tom Neer