Stormwater Management & Watercourse Protection

As a Municipal Separate Storm Sewer System (MS4), St. Charles County is regulated by the state and federal government under the Clean Water Act and the Water Pollution Control Act through a permit issued by the Missouri Department of Natural Resources. As part of the County’s storm water plan to meet its permit conditions, regulations and programs have been created to assure that required detention basins and storm water management facilities are being periodically maintained and are functioning properly and that our watercourses and streams are being preserved and protected with natural, vegetated buffers.

The Community Development Department’s Development Review Division has the responsibility for overseeing these programs and regulations. For further information or questions, please contact the division at 636-949-1814 or email the Development Division.