COVID-19 Quarantine Information

Quarantine is a public health technique in which a person is kept away from the general public because they have been exposed to an infectious or contagious disease. An individual is placed on mandatory quarantine when they test positive for COVID-19, or when they have been in close contact with or are a household contact to a positive COVID-19 patient. Mandatory quarantine helps prevent the spread of COVID-19 and is enforceable by Missouri Revised Statute (RsMo) 192.320.

If the St. Charles County Department of Public Health (SCCDPH) determines that you need to be placed on mandatory quarantine, then you must stay home for the duration of your quarantine.

For questions about quarantine, please contact the COVID-19 Information Hotline, 8 a.m.—5 p.m., Monday—Friday, at 636-949-1899.

View Quarantine and Isolation FAQs

Duration of Quarantine and Quarantine Exemptions for Vaccinated Individuals - Updated 3.11.21

Following guidance recently issued by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) and additional research by medical and academic professionals, the Department of Public Health (DPH) has adjusted its quarantine guidelines for contacts to COVID-19 positive or probable cases.

Duration of Quarantine for Close Contacts

As the incubation period for COVID-19 remains at 14 days, DPH recommends this as the best way to prevent the spread of illness. However, the department will allow close contacts of suspected or confirmed cases who do not reside with the positive or probable case to complete a reduced quarantine period under the following circumstances:

  • Quarantine will be reduced from 14 days to 10 days following the last day of exposure, if the individual remains completely symptom free through and including the 10th day of quarantine.
    The quarantined individual must continue to wear a mask and social distance at all times through the full 14-day period. If the individual experiences any COVID-19 symptom* during the full 14-day period, he or she must immediately isolate within his/her home, seek COVID-19 testing, and notify DPH of their condition.
  • Quarantine will be reduced from 14 days to 7 days following the last day of exposure if the individual remains completely symptom free for 7 days after exposure and receives a negative COVID-19 test result from a medical provider (a PCR test is the preferred method), which was collected on or after the 5th day following the exposure.
    The quarantined individual must continue to wear a mask and social distance at all times through the full 14-day period. If the individual experiences any COVID-19 symptom* during the full 14-day period, he or she must immediately isolate within his/her home, seek COVID-19 testing, and notify DPH of their condition.
  • The CDC, the Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services (DHSS) and the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education (DESE) recommend abstaining from participation in high-risk activities where masks cannot be worn effectively and social distancing is not possible during the full 14-day period. High-risk activities include sports or other activities where social distancing is not possible.

Duration of Quarantine for Students, School Employees and School Volunteers

DPH quarantine information related to the school setting can be found in the St. Charles County Department of Public Health Guidance for the 2021-2022 School Year (PDF) - Updated August 18, 2021

Quarantine Exemption for Fully Vaccinated Individuals

A vaccinated person exposed to an individual with suspected or confirmed COVID-19 is not required to be tested or quarantine if they meet all of the following criteria:

  • Completed all required vaccine doses.
  • Received their last necessary vaccine dose more than 14 days ago (i.e., if two vaccine doses are required, 14 days from the last of the two doses).
  • Have no symptoms* since their most recent exposure to a suspected or confirmed COVID-19 case.

Fully vaccinated individuals must contact DPH and provide proof of full vaccination.

*Individuals who experience any of these COVID-19 symptoms may not qualify for reduced quarantine period exemptions or opportunities:

  • Fever or chills
  • Cough
  • Shortness of breath or difficulty breathing
  • Fatigue
  • Muscle or body aches
  • Headache
  • New loss of taste or smell
  • Sore throat
  • Congestion or runny nose
  • Nausea or vomiting
  • Diarrhea

Release From Quarantine

Effective November 25, 2020, DPH has amended its protocols for release from isolation and quarantine and will no longer provide a release letter at the end of the period. With the guidance provided in a quarantine/isolation notification, individuals will receive information on procedures that will enable them to return to work, school and other activities safely.