Your Transportation Dollars in Motion

St. Charles County’s ½-cent Transportation Sales Tax first was enacted by voters in 1985, and has been reauthorized four times — in 1994, 2004, 2012 and 2022. Funds are used for traffic relief, roadway safety improvements, and to construct, reconstruct and repair roads, bridges, and transportation infrastructure within St. Charles County. 

Funds from the ½-cent Transportation Sales Tax are administered by the St. Charles County Road Board, a 12-member citizen advisory commission whose members are appointed by the County Executive and approved by the County Council. There is a representative from each of the seven County Council districts and five members representing municipalities. The Road Board evaluates and recommends road and bridge projects that are included in a three-year Transportation Improvement Plan (TIP), which is submitted to the County Executive and County Council for approval.

2021-11-10_Transportation Sales Tax Mailing cover
Transportation Sales Tax 4-Page Mailer cover