Collector of Revenue

Welcome! Before You Visit Our Offices…

For further questions, call our department at 636-949-7470. Thank you.

About Us

The St. Charles County Collector’s Office is committed to providing efficient tax payment (collection and disbursement) operations and to providing exceptional customer service to the taxpayers by promptly and professionally waiting on them at the service windows, pleasantly and patiently answering telephone inquiries, and courteously and creatively handling problems. 

Tax Bill Information

  • Sign up for eAlerts for personal property and real estate bills to be notified when your bill is online (pull up your account to register).

Tax bills for the current year are mailed by the end of November and are available online prior to mailing. Tax payments are due each year by Dec. 31. Technical difficulties with making phone or online payments do not extend the statutory deadline to pay without late payment penalties and interest. Receipts for payments by mail, online, phone, and drop boxes are mailed approximately five days after payment is received and processed by the Collector of Revenue’s office; receipts for payments made in-person at the Collector’s service windows are provided same-day. Note: Payment for 2018 and prior taxes must be in the form of cashier’s check, money order or certified funds.

Tax Bills

Your tax bill is comprised of three key components:

  • Assessment Authority
  • Taxing Authority
  • Collection Authority

Assessment Authority

The assessment authority (Assessor’s Office) is responsible for establishing the fair market value of all property within St. Charles County as of the tax date. This assures the tax burden is distributed fairly among those responsible for payment.

Taxing Authority

The taxing authority (school, city, fire districts, etc.) establishes the tax rate based on the budgetary requirements needed to appropriately fund the services provided within their jurisdiction.

Collection Authority

The collection authority (Collector of Revenue’s Office) is responsible for collecting the amount of tax assigned to each property owner.