Down Payment Loan Program (HOME)


The HOME-funded Down Payment Loan Program provides zero-interest down payment loans up to $10,000 to income-eligible homebuyers.

The residents of “St Charles Urban County,” which includes the cities of St. Charles, St. Peters, Cottleville, Weldon Spring, New Melle, St. Paul, Wentzville and unincorporated areas of St. Charles County are eligible to apply.

Purchasers in St. Charles County need not to be first-time homebuyers.

How It Works

The second mortgage loans are at zero percent interest, forgivable after five years and will be originated and sold to St. Charles County by approved not-for-profit housing counseling agencies. St. Charles County will provide each housing counseling agency with a program manual that will provide detailed program procedures, and will coordinate a training and review session with participating agencies.

Download a brochure (PDF)

Maximum Income Limits

1 Person Household$46,450
2 Person Household$53,050
3 Person Household$59,700
4 Person Household$66,300
5 Person Household$71,650
6 Person Household$76,950

Housing Counseling Required

For a loan amount up to $5,000, housing counseling is required. Participating lender / counseling agencies include the agencies below; please contact them to apply.

    3400 Meadow Pointe Drive
    O'Fallon, MO 63366
  • Housing Partnership
    336 E. Ripa Ave.
    St. Louis, MO 63125

Additional Information

  • Apply online
  • Contact: Amy Ellis, St. Louis County (314-615-4592)

To request accessible materials, delivery formats or language translations regarding this information, please contact:

The Down Payment Loan Program also is available in the City of O'Fallon and the City of St. Charles: